Featured Team

Featured Team


Orthopaedic Residents are part of the Interdisciplinary Trauma Team at Froedtert Hospital, the only Level 1 Trauma Center in the state of Wisconsin.
Read More

Global Health

Global Health

Nicaragua 2013

Two residents per year accompany the Pediatric Orthopaedics faculty to Nicaragua.
Read More

Featured Team

Featured Team

Sports Medicine

Orthopaedic Residents participate as part of the Sports Medicine Team caring for athletes from throughout Wisconsin and the United States.




The goal of the orthopaedic residency program is to educate residents on the process of research and its importance to the advancement of the science and orthopaedic practice.
Read More




Residency Program Retreat

CHW Auditorium



Memorial Day

MCW Holiday



MCWAH Chief Resident Leadership Symposium

MCW Discovery Classroom

View all Events & Schedules

What makes MCW stand out

“I chose MCW because I felt it was the program that would best prepare me to enter general orthopaedic practice immediately following residency. It offers extensive hands-on and practical experience with a team-based culture”
Alex Riordan, Class 2017

More about MCW

Did you know...

In 2012 MCW Orthopaedic surgeons performed 5291 surgical procedures

In the News

2014 Match
March 21, 2014

MCW Department of Orthopaedic Surgery is proud to announce the results of the 2014 Orthopaedic Surgery Match. Congratulations and welcome to our new interns! Kenneth Berg, MD Medical College of Wisconsin; Peter Eggert, MD Creighton University: Dennis English, MD Loyola University – Chicago; Darren Nabor, MD Medical College of Wisconsin; Jacob Seiler, MD University of Illinois - Chicago

Dr. Raj Rao elected to Board of Directors of American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
March 20, 2014

Raj Rao, MD, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Neurosurgery, was elected to the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons at the 2014 annual meeting in New Ortleans. A long-time active member of the academy, Dr. Rao has served in several leadership capacities including chair of the AAOS Diversity Advisory Board from 2011-2014 and as an Academy Leadership Fellow in 2005.

Dr. Kevin Walter selected to serve on national council to combat catastrophic injury among young athletes
February 21, 2014

Kevin Walter, MD has been selected to serve as a member of the National Council on Youth Sports Safety (NCYSS) to direct Protecting Athletes and Sports Safety Athletes and Sports Safety (PASS), an innovative two-year initiative launched by the Satcher Health Leadership Institute at Morehouse School of Medicine and the Department of Global Health at George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services to address and combat the incidence of catastrophic brain injuries among the more than thirty-five million youth who participate in organized sports annually. The council, led by David Satcher, MD, former U.S. Surgeon General, will review existing research, explore alternative solutions, and develop a strategic plan for the implementation of national guidelines on youth sports safety.