David S. Haskell MD Endowed Chair in Orthopaedic Education

Haskell, David(1)Dr. David S. Haskell is a 1972 graduate of the Medical College of Wisconsin Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program. He obtained his MD degree from Marquette University School of Medicine in 1967 and was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha National Honor Medical Society. He has a rich history with the Medical College of Wisconsin, practices full-time, and serves as Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery. As a proponent of education, Dr. Haskell’s intent of this endowed Chair in Orthopaedic Education was to assure the residency program continued to have financial support in its effort to recruit, reward, and retain the best faculty for the program and to attract the best and brightest students to one of the top programs in the country.

Paul A. Jacobs MD Endowed Chairman

paul-jacobsDr. Paul Jacobs served as a member of the Medical College of Wisconsin Clinical Faculty in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, in addition to his private practice. During the 2008 MCW Convocation Ceremony Dr. Jeffrey Schwab Chairman of the Orthopaedic Surgery was installed as the first Paul A. Jacobs MD Professor in Orthopaedic Surgery. Dr. Jacobs intent by creating this Professorship was to advance discovery, education, patient care and community engagement in the MCW Department of Orthopaedic Surgery.

Orthopaedic Surgery Research and Educational Endowment Fund

MCW-Ortho-LogoThis fund was established in September of 2000 and directly benefits our education programs. The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin has long been a national leader in teaching and patient care. We value excellence, compassion, and professionalism. Over the years, the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery has produced a growing roster of graduates who have gone on to become very successful clinicians, educators, researchers, and administrators with these same core values.

The Michael C. Collopy MD Orthopaedic Surgery Resident Education Endowment Fund

collopyBWThis endowed fund was established in July 2013 and honors an extraordinary person instrumental to the orthopaedic training and experience at the Medical College of Wisconsin and the Zablocki VA Medical Center. Dr. Collopy mentored generations of residents and fellows for over 40 years. With contributions from residents of the program, the fund will continue the dedication of Dr. Collopy to sustain excellence in medical education through original teaching and superior patient care.

The Dr. Frederick and Lisa Laun Anatomy Lectureship to Honor Bessie Casey

Bessie CaseyThis fund was established in December 2008 by Dr. and Mrs. Laun to support an annual visiting professor lecture, with extensive experience in dealing with disorders of the hand, wrist, elbow and shoulder. This endowment was also to honor Bessie Casey, who handled most of the admissions and was the “voice of the students” from the 1950s to the 1970s at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

The Bruce J. Brewer MD Endowed Student Award in Orthopaedic Surgery Fund

Brewer-profile1This fund was established in December 1999 by the late Kathryn Brewer in memory of her late husband and former Chairman of the Medical College’s Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Dr Bruce Brewer. This award honors outstanding achievement by a graduating senior medical student who is pursuing a career in orthopaedics.

John S. Gould Lectureship Fund

DrGould bwEstablished in June 1997 by Dr. John S. Gould to support the annual graduation educational day and the travel of the invited visiting professor. Dr. Gould served as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin from 1986 until 1996.